Skip to content

Jean's Blog

Lets look at the possibilities of why someone under this sky would have a website.

1. Personal Website

2. Blog

3. corporate

4… and a zillion other good reasons.

And when you have decided to have a website, you would either go for the free hosting or paid hosting depending on the depth or the requirement of the hosting. We find a webhost the cheapest the most competitive. and we host there. Now when we host a site, it is supposed to receive hits. when we start receiving hits the energy to make the site better and better boils in you.

Creating a website better could start from from designing from borrowed ideas, if you are not much of a designer and code if you are not much of a programmer. And finally we get all the programming and designing perfect to our liking and much to the dislike to others. Of course you will agree that if we had to listen to the world, we would be walking around naked!

The host as I said earlier is the most competitive, providing with you ample space, emails more than what a mid-size corporate would require, your eyes pop with the delicacy. Enough.. Enough… Then I go and host my website, but I am not getting hits, I am not very happy at this. hmmm… not to be sad, it is always this way for a starter is the advice, I keep posting and posting, Google, Yahoo takes notice, they bring in traffic, and slowly over 2 years I have enough traffic. I am happy….With the hits my website becomes tooooo slow, and I write promptly to the web host.

AAAHHH…my web host is not happy, here comes the equation. you are not supposed to have a more than 50 connections outside, I said I do not. Well then probably the slow site is due to shared hosting. here is the email correspondence from them

Discussion Notes
Support Staff Response
Dear Sir or Madam,Thank you for contacting hosting support.

Unfortunately, we were unable to duplicate an issue with the speed of your hosting account right at this time. In a shared hosting environment, the server resources are shared among many customers, and therefore there may be times where the site doesn’t work as quickly as you would like. This is just one of the side affects of sharing resources. It also looks like your site may be pulling information from other sources as well. Depending on the network capacity to these sources, and the traffic they are experiencing, it can affect the speed which your site loads.

If you would like to alleviate the possibility that other customers’ may be slowing down your web experience, we offer Dedicated and Virtual Dedicated servers, where you will share resources with less customers – and in a Dedicated environment, you would share with no other customers. This may be more attractive to you if you are unhappy with the speed and dedicated power that your shared hosting account receives.

Please let us know if we can help you in any other way.

Sincerely,

xxxx.
Advanced Hosting Support

Customer Inquiry
Hello,I optimized the tables that needed optimization, the site is still running slow. I am aware that I have shared hosting, but the site is slow for the past one week.

Thanks
xxxxx


If you need further assistance with this matter, please reply to this email or contact customer service at (480) 505-8877 and reference [Incident ID: 2868505].

Please let us know how we are doing by completing the survey located here.

Thanks,
yyyyyyyy

The above emai tells me that my site is being slow because other users on the same server may be slowing down my website, I wonder how I am able to solve that issue? I guess the web host has no idea what they are talking about. Here is another email from them regarding the same issue.

Discussion Notes
Support Staff Response
Dear xxxxx,Thank you for taking time to contact Online Support. Unfortunately we are currently unable to duplicate your issue. We will need more information in order to assist you. Ideally, we would like step-by-step instructions on how to reproduce the problem. What errors are you receiving? The more detailed information you can provide us, the better we will be able to help. We appreciate your cooperation and patience in this matter.

Please let us know if we can assist you in any other way.

Sincerely,

xxxxxx.
Online Support

Customer Inquiry
Hello,My website xxxxxx is down and it says MySQL server has gone away.

Thanks

xxxx

Now the above email is asking me how I can show the web host support team to slow my website, or reproduce the slow website on their side, I just cannot help thinking on how I can do it, probably tag the website down in the Sahara desert and try and pull it? How can I reproduce that, so I am not able to reproduce, therefore there is no support. This is simply interesting to the point that they are not at all good. And they ask me if there are any errors, yes i provided them with the error that “MySQL server has gone away”, gone away where for brunch?

Here is an email of me writing to them explaining my thoughts of the above email

Discussion Notes
Support Staff Response
Dear xxxx,Thank you for contacting Online Support.

It is possible the shared hosting server does not offer the amount of power you need to run your site. As previously mentioned we do have alternatives to shared hosting in the Virtual Dedicated or Dedicated Environment. We have reviewed this issue with our Advanced Hosting Support and are unable to duplicate the issue. You may wish to adjust the design of your site to optimize database quires and external connections as this can often contribute to ‘site slowness’.

For more information or to purchase a Virtual Dedicated server you can visit here.

For more information or to purchase a Dedicated server you can visit here

Please let us know if we can help in any other way.

Regards,

xxxx.
Online Support Technician

Customer Inquiry
Hello,Ofcourse shared hosting means multiple web hosting on a server, but it does not mean slow loading of pages.

Thanks
xxxx

Before I explain the email, I will give you a pic of my stats, I get roughly 2000 hits a day. This should be sufficient for shared hosting. It seems they cannot handle this load, they ask me to move over to virtual or dedicated environment. Why should I do that when the website I run do not require such a hosting.

I am tired of explaining to them, here is something for you to smile

Discussion Notes
Support Staff Response
Dear xxxx,

Thank you for contacting Online Support. The hosting account is not suspended or down for any reason. This site does appear to be experiencing slowness. We’ll need to know the exact steps for this to take place. If you are experiencing any errors, we’ll need these errors or screen shots.

Please let us know if we may be of further assistance.
Sincerely,
xxxx.
Online Support

Customer Inquiry
Hello,

My website xxxxxx is down please bring it back online.

Regards
xxxx

Here is an email from the stating that my website had caused outage on their servers and they took it out, so if other sites are making my site slow then they should do the same.

Discussion Notes
Support Staff Response
Dear Sir/Madam,

Our Network Center has recently notified us of an issue on your hosting account.

Recently your site has caused a server CPU over-utilization. This caused several sites within the server to experience load failures. We attempted to resolve the high server load by moving the account to a different server, but the account is still causing high server loads. Your account ‘xxxx’ has been disabled to so that our server levels would return to normal.

If you would like us to reinstate the account then please resolve the over-utilization issues or move to a dedicated server.

Please contact us if you have any further issues.

Regards,
Advanced Hosting Support

I am tired, provide me with your response.  You all may be wondering who the web host is, its none other than GoDaddy

Tags: , , ,